When cellphones become “cellevisions”

16 May

Yoonhyuk, J. & Perez-Mira, B & Wiley-Patton, S. (2008) Consumer adoption of mobile TV: Examining psychological flow and media content. Computers in Human Behavior, 25, 123-129.


The purpose of this study is to investigate what factors influence consumer adoption of mobile TV service[1]. The authors used different but related theories to construct the theoretical framework for this paper. The theories include technology acceptance model (TAM), and which is extended with consumer’s flow experience and media content. The paper chooses Mobile TV users in South Korea as their subjects due to the pervasiveness of Mobile TV in this country. The methodology of the study is doing a web-based survey by posting it on the board of online communities where users exchange information about Digital Multimedia Broadcasting (DMB) to find appropriate target audience.

The core theory “TAM” indicates that people will be intent to accept technology based on two beliefs: perceived usefulness (PU) and perceived ease of use (PEOU). Hence, the authors assumed three hypotheses by using the TAM theory:

1. PU will have positive impact on users’ intention to use mobile TV.

    (PU example: Use of mobile TV can increase the quality of my life/work.)

2. PEOU will have positive impact on users’ intention to use mobile TV.

    (PEOU example: Learning to use mobile TV would be easy for me.)

3. PEOU will have positive impact on PU.

The authors also made other hypotheses when discussing about extended theories of TAM like consumer’s flow experience and media content. There are lots of different flow experience concepts, however this paper only focuses on cognitive concentration part of flow experience. About the content, the authors think it is a potential antecedent of cognitive concentration and PU. The content provides important characters such as timeliness, sufficiency and relevance of information. For Mobile TV, the content should have huge possibility. Therefore, the authors have four hypotheses about this part:

1. Cognitive concentration will have positive impact on PU.

    (Cognitive concentration example: During using mobile TV, I am deeply engrossed in the activity.)

2. Cognitive concentration will have positive impact on PEOU.

3. Content will have positive impact on consumer’s cognitive concentration.

    (Content example: Mobile TV provides up-to-date contents)

4. Content will have positive impact on PU.

The result of the study proved the strong support to all hypotheses except the “PEOU will have positive impact of PU”. The paper explained that it is because most of their survey participants are all mobile devices early adopters. Hence, the perceived ease of use maybe not a big deal to them. Overall, the study indicated that “content” is an important factor to effect consumer adoption of mobile TV.

From my point of view, it sounds reasonable that the content of mobile TV will positive effect consumers’ perceived usefulness and cognitive concentration driving behavioral intention. Take myself as an example; I have tried to watch Korean drama by using my cell phone because I am obsessed by it and want to utilize my commute time to watch television on my cell phone. It is clear that the Korean drama drives my intention to use mobile TV because I expect it will satisfied my needs and also I will be concentrated on it due to it’s the content I like.

Although the paper indicated lots of limitation in the study such as lack of cultural difference (all Korean participants), male is much more than female and didn’t include the technology attribute (small screen of cell phones)…etc, I think the paper still provided the good insight about the adoption issue of mobile TV and found out the importance of “content” on mobile TV which is the part that usually ignored by other studies.

Discussion

  1. Have you ever used mobile TV service? If yes, please describe why did you use it and in what circumstance?
  2. If not, please think about what reason will be the most attractive factor for you to use mobile TV?
  3. Compare perceived usefulness and perceived ease of use, which one do you think is more important of consumer adoption of mobile TV? Why?
  4. What kind of content of Mobile TV do you want to have? Entertainment only or informative information?
  5. Does there any reason hesitate you to use mobile TV? Price? Signals? 

[1] In this paper, mobile TV service refers to Digital Video Broadcasting Handheld (DVB-H) and Digital Multimedia Broadcasting. (DMB)

15 Responses to “When cellphones become “cellevisions””

  1. Kathy E. Gill 05/17/2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Coco – very creative use of images! How did you create the “hypotheses” slide? Neat!

    • Rachael Boyer 05/17/2011 at 7:12 pm #

      Agreed Coco! That hypotheses slide was really helpful – especially since I’m a visual learner and if I had just been listening to you describe or list the hypotheses without a visual map of some sort, I would have been quite lost. Instead, I felt like I understood their approach to the study. Thanks for taking the extra time to make the presentation fun, easy to understand, and easy to discuss.

  2. jackiemorrow 05/17/2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Excellent job Coco! Your presentation was clear, engaging and challenged us to really think about how we might use mobile TV (if at all). Now realizing mobile TV refers to “live tv” versus an on demand option….then no, I doubt I would ever use it – unless there was some type of emergency and I wasn’t able to access a computer/tv. I also really liked your presentation image/design. You’re done!!

  3. Lisa 05/17/2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Nice presentation Coco. One thing we discussed in the other group was how bandwidth is really the primary obstacle to watching mobile tv. I would be open to watching all kinds of content – news, information, feature programs – but if I am in my home where the signal is strong enough, I would just as well watch them on my laptop or television.

  4. kangting21 05/17/2011 at 7:14 pm #

    Good job Coco! It’s a very interesting topic though I am not a big fan of mobile TV. I think personally it’s just habit oriented. Watching TV on mobile phone is very occasional for me, like I said, there is no “supervening necessity”. However, if all the hardware elements for Mobile TV are upgraded(battery, wifi environment, etc), I think it’s very possible that I’ll become a subscriber.

    Additionally, good to know some new theories, I might consider adopt them in my project. But for the hypothesis, I don’t think all of them are tenable, especially H3, H4, H5.

  5. Elise 05/17/2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Great job on your presentation, Coco. You were clearly very familiar with the material, and your slideshow was visually engaging. You also asked some thought-provoking questions that cultivated a rich discussion.

  6. Cathy Britt 05/17/2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Coco – Great job on your presentation! I especially loved the hypotheses slide. The visuals really helped me understand how people responded to the survey and the importance of content to drive use of this new technology. I learned a lot from you!

  7. RubaHachim 05/17/2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Coco – I wish I had the chance to listen in on your discussion as I believe I would’ve enjoyed it. I really liked your visuals and use of photos in the slides. Also, I liked your analysis and explanation of the different theories and the flow of information you presented. I especially appreciated the meaningful questions you posed at the end. Great job!

  8. Navni Garg 05/17/2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Hey Coco,

    Your presentation looks great! I like the hypothesis slide. It looks very informative. Great work! Your presentation explains the topic well and in detail.
    Thanks.

    Navni.

  9. teriwieg 05/17/2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Super job Coco! I thought your slides aided well in your storytelling. The use of mobile phone is an interesting topic, as it seems that here in Seattle, not many of us see a need for this…yet. I believe this may be because we are not a telecomuting society, like South Korea is (especially here in Seattle). As I would one of mobile phone video broadcasting would be to kill time. This may be one of those things that takes us by surprise and becomes the next disruptive technology, but right now I just don’t see the need.

  10. louisemaxwell 05/17/2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Coco – Very nice job parsing out what was important in the study and explaining which factors seemed to influence consumer adoption the most. I especially liked the slide in which you mapped out all the factors examined in the study – that made it immediately understandable. I agree that mobile TV would be popular in the U.S. if the content was unique to mobile TV. Great job on your presentation!

  11. Corey Christiansen 05/17/2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Nice job Coco! I was really impressed with your slide layouts (especially the one with all of the boxes!) and how you related it to personal experience. I did a similar presentation for one of Kathy’s classes a few years ago but still felt like I learned a few things from yours.

  12. evanwestmedia 05/17/2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Hey Coco,

    That was a great presentation. Do you think that the transportation system has something to do with peoples consumption of media on mobile devices?

  13. Tarja Kallinen 05/17/2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Cultural differences do matter. Here in the US people still drive their own cars way too much to really be able to utilize a mobile TV. But if that ever changes, I can see people buried in it. (If we ever get the bandwidth sufficient.)

  14. Lara Underhill 05/17/2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Great looking presentation, Coco! While I didn’t get to see your presentation, I think your slides did a great job visually explaining the topic. I loved your slide linking the hypotheses. The photos also worked really well.

Leave a Reply

